Mum, Work & Play

I am a mum, who works and likes to play with my three great boys

It Must Be The Weather!

on May 9, 2011

Do It With A Smile.

I got out of bed pretty chirpier today despite being woken up at 5.30am by a very loud crow.  Again way before my alarm went off; luckily I managed to get a few minutes snooze before the buzzing sound under my pillow.

Was thinking (as I resisted to press the snooze button after the first buzz!!!!) gone are the days of bedside table alarm clocks and digital radio timers.  Everything is almost on the phone now, I have a Samsung Galaxy and it totally rocks.  I use it for almost anything…well apart from household chores.  I bet that time will come when you can have a new age type help at home. I pray they invent it before my kids grow into their teen years or there will be no need to get one.    

School Run Was Child’s Play Today

There was no drama with the kids today, no yelling mum either, which was pretty cool. Everything was on schedule and did not have to do any adjustments in the car.  I am a work-in-progress and already seeing changes in my temperament.  My sons read their story books too, more chapters than I expected.  Learning to let the inconsequential things slid and deal with any naughty behaviour there and then.   My good mood took me all the way to the bank and back and is still rocking… it must be a really good day.  I guess in all things, it is good to give thanks to God. I mean like could be bad!!

The Joy of Self-Employment..

People always tell me how blessed I am to be able to work from home. It is great to do your own thing but you must always be able to bring something out of your tenacity box as sometimes it can be tough.  The need to always keep yourself busy knowing ‘if you snooze you lose’ is pretty daunting.  As an employee you can afford to doze on the job or even take an extended lunch break. When you are self-employed, you are always on a deadline, trying to get more out so you can get more in. 

My kids are in school for 6 hours, not counting the drop off and pick up travel time. I must cram in so much work and the never-ending household chores into 4-5 hours. Sometimes I am so engrossed in work (especially web design), I give lunch a miss.  It is a privilege to find something I love to do and I do not take that for granted. 

…But sometimes you just want to chill!!

The good thing is the variety of my workload keeps it rather interesting. One day it could be web design, another day business plan writing and another research and development of new ideas.  Hopefully I will be working in collaboration with a local group soon on a project for moms and business start-up – my little contribution to the community – that is pretty exciting!

Must remind myself to stop eating when I am on my laptop, keep getting crumbs under the letter keys – pretty annoying. 

Well…Next Time…Definitely Better…Temi.

Photos courtesy of sxc.hu Vancity197 & Dynamix…thanks.

Leave a Reply

