Mum, Work & Play

I am a mum, who works and likes to play with my three great boys

More Gratitude…Less Attitude

on August 3, 2011

Early Riser Not!

Why am I writing at this time of the morning, considering that I am not an early riser?  Well firstly, my little one has been coughing more than usual.  Gave cough syrup to one child and forgot the other – that would have eased things up for him. Also my mind has been really busy overnight which resulted in restlessness and an almost sleepless night.  There is just too much stuff swimming in my head.  I am one of those people who latches on to a thought and finds it hard to let go.  I had to train myself over time to ensure my thoughts before bedtime are good ones or else….it might be a long night. 

Gratitude – A Beautiful Word

So one of the things that propelled me to write whilst I was struggling to sleep was the title of my blog – the need to be grateful.  I used to be a pessimist but I thought I had been cured, then it dawned on me that I have been complaining about a lot of things lately. Some of the things I complain about are just too embarrassing to share.

Then I read someone’s blog at www.belindaotas.com – it was such a great read.  She wrote about how she no longer spends her life wishing for marriage but embraces other aspects of her life in its fullness.  I was inspired by what she wrote, it set me on a grateful path and I decided to start counting my blessings.

Counting the Blessings

Some of the things that stood out for me were:  A husband I can relate to and who works hard to provide for his home, two beautiful healthy kids, my own thriving business (I have been self-employed for two years and still loving it), good health, the love of family and friends, living in a war-free country, the list could go on… 

I made a decision today to be grateful and quit moaning, to appreciate the little things in life that some people will give anything to have.  Yes I may not be where I want to be, but in Joyce Meyer’s words…”I am ok, and on my way”.  That sums up my restless night, so guess what! Tomorrow I am going to sleep deep and sleep well. Why? Because all things are working for me, even the things I can’t see.  My cup is almost full and not almost empty!!!

We are off to a picnic in the park today and it is going to be so much fun. Looking forward to spending time with my family in a stress-free environment.

Work Update

If you get the chance please check out my latest project www.fit2sparkle.co.uk.  My input was business idea development, business plan, web design and content, eBooks and products development, on-going consultation and other bits and bobs I do for love. 

Till a better next time…Temi.

Leave a Reply

