Mum, Work & Play

I am a mum, who works and likes to play with my three great boys

The ‘Why’ of a Home Based Business

on October 26, 2011

As a mumpreneur who works from home in between school run and late at night, sometimes I wonder if I am doing the right thing.  This is after I scrape the burnt fish fingers from the oven once I am done with a supplier on the phone.  Or when I have to deal with an overflowing in-tray whilst I look after my little one who is unwell and can’t make school. 

We moms always have a way of picking ourselves up and find the resolve to go on. We always find the reason why we choose to be at home and not sit in an air-conditioned office sipping coffee, and once in a while drift from the tasks ahead.  ‘Why’ is the reason we forego gourmet meals with our work colleagues and now live on the kids leftovers just because you have a deadline that can’t wait. 

What is your ‘Why’?

‘Why’ is our reason, our comforter when the going gets tough. It’s what keeps us motivated when that business deal slips away for the umpteen time. 

‘Why’ is when you see the little ones after school grinning from ear to ear with a story that has you doubled up with laughter. 

‘Why’ is when your client base is down by 50% but you are in the front row of the school play watching your little one debut his solo performance.  

‘Why’ is when they call you from school that your little one is unwell and like a flash you are at a school office to welcome your precious one into your arms. 

‘Why’ is because you are your own boss, you do not need any authorisation to accompany your child’s class to the zoo.  At least you can catch up on your hours late at night. 

Yes, we do moan about how we have to juggle so many things at the same time. Conversing with a client whilst you load the washing machine or reading stories to your 3-year-old for the fifth time and sorting out your invoices all in one go.   Whichever way we look at it, I bet a lot of us will not want it any other way. 

One of my ‘whys’ is my sons’ smiles at the end of the school day knowing that mum or dad will be there to pick them up so they can catch up on the wacky stories about what happened in the playground.

So when you the going gets tough and your schedule seems to running away from you and out of control, remember your whys.   

Till a great next time….Temi

Find me at www.businessfirststeps.co.uk where I do what I love – helping people find their passion. 

photo courtesy of svilen001 sxc.hu

Leave a Reply

