Mum, Work & Play

I am a mum, who works and likes to play with my three great boys

What Can They Actually Hear?

on November 15, 2011

Oh that Trainline Song!!!

My sons have been singing the Trainline song all weekend and I had no choice but to join in too.  It is so catchy “Choo Choo, Choo, come and join the trainline”.  It reminded me of an excerpt from of Michael McIntyre’s stand up comedy shows. He was complaining that every time they get in the car his kids start singing advert songs because these are featured heavily at intervals during the kids programs. Their favourite one was “washing machine live longer with Calgon”. 

After listening to my kids sing the trainline song for the umpteenth time, it dawned on me that I really need to pay more attention to what they hear and watch.  Hold it!! If you have got the sight of Sherlock Holmes with his magnifying glass in your head, get rid of it now.  I am not thinking of that kind of snooping around looking for clues but just general awareness.

What I mean is I need to be more cognisant of what they watch on TV, on the computer – actually especially on the computer as kids are so into YouTube now, it is unbelievable!!!  If my son wants to find out how to get to World 8 in Super Mario Bros, he checks it on YouTube.

For a mum who works from home, work hours can sometimes be every 15 minutes in every hour, so you end up darting between rooms to make sure everything is ticking ok and back to your laptop.  A lot can go unseen within those hours.

Passing on the Good Stuff

A question was raised in church recently about how we transfer our faith to our kids and how to help them make the right choices in life – without being forceful.  My thoughts were – be an example.  I want to be a good example to my kids so the life I live speaks louder than the words I say.  To be quite honest, I need a break from talking and being the advocate for peace between my lovely boys.

My pledge

The joy of working from home is incomparable, but with it comes the juggling act.  From today I solemnly pledge that my work hours must be more defined.  I will surely make more time for the kids so I can be in their world as much as they are part of mine.

There is a great future ahead….Temi

Photos courtesy of Ssijker and Josterix sxc.hu.

Leave a Reply

