Mum, Work & Play

I am a mum, who works and likes to play with my three great boys

I think Mum’s Got Game!

on April 14, 2012

As a mom of two active boys, it can be a very daunting and exhausting experience when you take them out. Most times I play safe and only engage in activities with minimal movement.   But today was different; I decided to raise my game and we went to the park to play football and lawn tennis.

I must say though, kudos to the professional tennis players.  That tennis court was so huge, how do they cover the court so quickly?   I could not reach the balls fast enough even though I tried.  My son and I reached a consensus to use the inner boxes only (don’t know what they are called), before mum passes out from exhaustion.  Luckily he got bored and decided to go on the swings instead.  Phew…I almost lost my street cred there!

So we moved to football and I surprised myself at how well I can tackle and kick the ball in the right direction.  I even scored a few goals when we tried penalty shoot-outs.  The tackling was a bit hard, running after two vibrant boys certainly took its toll on me.   I have learnt so much since my boys came along. From making paper fighter planes to battle ships, knowing all the Ben10 Aliens by heart, the Power Rangers Samurai moves and the odd stint at football…I bet my boys think I am a cool mum.  It is just pure joy being able to play with one’s kids.

I have barely had time for work during their two-week holiday but I can say the time spent together has been well worth it.  So even though the bank balance might not be what I want it to be, the memories of these two weeks will stay with me forever.

Mom has raised her game and is now the new footballer in town, so if you know anyone looking to sign a woman over 40…send them my way.

Great time next time…Temi.

Photo courtesy of Linda6580 sxc.hu.

Leave a Reply

